#justsaying: oh hey there, 2014.

To the year 2014,

I know, you’ve only been here a day or two. Look, I’m not sure what 2013 told you about how things work here — you know, where my life is concerned and all — but 2013 wasn’t all that great. I mean, sure we had our laughs and giggles, but some of the shit that went down…

:facepalm:

Well, let me just lay down a few ground rules, ok?

First of all, you gotta let me get somewhere with this whole ‘career-what-do-I-want-to-be’ business. Having a bunch of degrees laying around isn’t going to do me much good if I’m locked away in the dungeon known as the Dead End Cubicle. As for the Sisyphus-nonsense in said Dead End Cubicle, perhaps I could use the ability to switch on my invisible shield and prevent the idiocy of others from penetrating my own emotional walls. I’m trying here, I really am, to get this show on the road and escape. However, it wasn’t in the cards last year, so I’m hoping you and 2013 have come to your senses.

Secondly, I need to take my creative outlet(s) and really… GO with them. I’ve spent more time over the past year researching other brands, designer and independent, to find out what it is that I want to convey with my jewelry and art pieces. I need to stop comparing where others are and start learning from their successes and how to incorporate it into my own. I have a better idea of who I am as a designer, but now its time to wear the hats for Marketing, Operations, Accounts, and PR. I don’t want an empire because empires fall. I want to create and leave a legacy.

Third, this whole being ‘healthy’ thing is kinda nuts, don’t you think so? I mean, so what if I chow down whenever I see food in sight? And spend 75% of my day on my ass, doing one thing or another? UGH. Alright, I’ll *try* to be better with what I choose to eat. Eat to live, not live to eat.

Fourth, Dasha has been much more prevalent in my life in the past year than I had previously thought when I created her. She’s become a part of myself that’s braver, unfiltered, and raw. So she’s going to be joining Quasi on here. #dashasays a lot… as you’ll soon see.

Fifth, ugh I need to plan these DIY’s much much much farther in advance. Mostly because I get ideas at the most random times, leaving me with less than 24 hours to actually do the two blog posts (inspo + project). So while I’m busy planning errrrything else, can we squeeze in some craft time as well? Yes? At some point, the erratic-ness with which I post here becomes downright defeating. I know, it’s all in my head, and who really gives a f*** anyways. I write and create for me. If others read and are inspired…

Sixth, there will be some flare ups — temper-wise I mean — but that doesn’t mean I’m not trying to keep myself from jumping off the deep end. Going Zen is not an option as I just have too much going on inside my head to suddenly silence it all. BUT at least I haven’t reverted back to my psychopathic tendencies, so that’s a win, right?

Seventh… I need to participate. In life, in art, in the world outside of my own little box where I’ve locked myself. I need to raise my hand, comment on the screen and not just to myself, and fucking plant a flag already because if I disappear tomorrow, there will be nothing here to show for the past 20-something years. This isn’t about ‘making dreams come true’ or ‘being the best version of yourself’ or some bullshit. I do not exist to take flak from others, or to allow others to wipe their shoes all over my professional reputation, or to be that girl who did NOTHING with her life. I remember when I’d finish performing a piece of poetry or dramatic reading the judges and participants who would come up to me and let me know how my words affected them. I’m not aiming to cure the world of its ills; I just want to make someone else’s life better because of my actions. I want others who find themselves to be different to see that they do have a place.

Ok, I think I’ve given you all you need to know for the next 365/4 days.

Welcome, 2014, to my place. Don’t break shit here.

–Nita

Leave a Reply

